And so it begins. Well, so it's about to begin. It's day negative one of my semester across the pond and these energetic little butterflies won't settle down in my deep-dish-pizza-filled stomach. I've been spending a few days in Chicago before I fly out tomorrow for my study abroad trip in Eastern Europe.

My name is Eileen and I live in Belleville, IL (right outside St. Louis). I am currently working toward a degree in English and Communications (with a focus in Journalism) and a minor in Women's and Gender Studies at the University of Dayton. I plan on graduating in 2013 as a happy and satisfied 22 year-old. Before I reach that point however, I will embark on a journey across Eastern Europe while taking classes and experiencing life from a whole different perspective. Antioch University is providing me with this experience via their Comparative Women's and Gender Studies in Europe program. Starting tomorrow until early November I will be taken through Utrecht, the Netherlands; Berlin, Germany; Prague, the Czezh Republic; and Krakow, Poland all while taking classes about feminism and gender roles.

As I'm writing this, those annoying butterflies are still going at it. I guess I'm nervous? Excited? Hungry? I have never been to any of these countries, I've never taken any WGS classes, and I don't know anyone else going on my program, so I really don't know what to expect from it at all. But I promise to keep all of you guys updated as I go along. Thanks for taking a look at my blog! You can follow me through my trip EuroFem2k13 and experience everything just as I do! Tschau!



xx

Eileen



ann
8/8/2013 09:14:38 am

Butterflies are ok. This will be awesome! Love you.

Reply
Mary Jo Comerford
8/9/2013 11:52:07 am

Loving this blog. xoxoxoxoox

Reply



Leave a Reply.